Last Testimony for President Oliveira

Lindsay on a tree CroppedMonday we had leadership counsel which was amazing. It was our last one with President Oliveira which was sad. It was, of course, very spiritual. Everyone cried. Oh man, and at the end he was like, “Sister Sharp, will you please stand and bear your testimony of the Savior?” I was like OH COME ON ITS LIKE YOU YOU JUST WANT TO WATCH ME CRY. It was good though. I’m excited for this next transfer. Were really focusing on less actives and my companion and I made a goal to have 6 resgates (less actives made active) and 6 baptisms. It’s going to be a lot of work but its going to happen.
Then on Saturday we had a zone meeting so the sisters had to get back on a boat to Fogo. You know the seas are going to be rough when they hand you a motion sickness pill when you enter the boat. Zone meeting was good though. One of my favorite parts was a quote by C.S. Lewis that talked about how there is no such thing as ordinary people because every person you pass on the street has to potential to be a god. cool thought!
“There are no ordinary people. You have never talked to a mere mortal. Nations, cultures, arts, civilizations – these are mortal, and their life is to ours as the life of a gnat. But it is immortals whom we joke with, work with, marry, snub and exploit – immortal horrors or everlasting splendors. This does not mean that we are to be perpetually solemn. We must play. But our merriment must be of that kind (and it is, in fact, the merriest kind) which exists between people who have, from the outset, taken each other seriously – no flippancy, no superiority, no presumption.”
Second best part of zone meeting. a couple weeks ago I taught my companion from Portugal to say “Honey badger don’t care!” which was funny enough. Then at the beginning of zone meeting our zone leaders told us to say our name, where we’re from, and our favorite it animal. yeah. you better believe she stood up and said “honey badger” in English. That’s my comp.
Miracle of the week, I fasted to find the 6 less actives and 6 baptisms that we need to work with and when I showed up to church the next day a member came up to me saying he had a list of less actives and people who want to know more about the church in our area, and that he wanted to mark a day to go out and show us their houses. Yeah, that’s not normal. Definitely a miracle.
Now I’m just glad to be back in my area and I’m ready to get back to work. I missed my investigators and less actives so much. I’m going to be in trouble when I leave this area.
Love you all!
-Sister Sharp
One thought on “Last Testimony for President Oliveira

  1. I love hearing about the growth of your testimony and the tender mercies The Lord extends to us when we put our faith and trust in Him.
    Love, sister hall

Leave a Reply

